Office for the Prevention of Domestic Violence

Law

Summary of New York State Domestic Violence and Related Laws by Subject (beginning from 1995)

Subject Categories

Sex Offenses/Trafficking/Services/Sex Offenders
Sexual Assault Evidence Kits

New York State enacted a new law at the end of 2016 to inventory and process sexual assault evidence kits in the custody of law enforcement and to establish procedures for timely processing of new kits (A.10067-A Simotas /S.8117 Hannon - Chapter 500). An amendment to the law in February 2017 changed the effective dates of some of the 2016 provisions and added new provisions (A.375 Simotas/S.980 Hannon - Chapter 6).

The final law includes the following requirements:

  • Law enforcement agencies and prosecutors were required to inventory sexual offense evidence kits in their custody and report the total number to the State Division of Criminal Justice Services (DCJS) and an appropriate forensic laboratory so DCJS could report those statistics to the Legislature by March 1, 2017.
  • Any untested sexual offense evidence kits in the possession or control of a police agency or prosecutor’s office on or before February 26, 2016 must be submitted to an appropriate forensic laboratory by Dec. 28, 2017.
  • Effective November 28, 2017, within 120 days of receiving a kit, a forensic laboratory must assess the kit and analyze and develop a CODIS eligible DNA profile when possible. Results must be reported to the submitting police agency and the appropriate prosecutor’s office within 90 days of the assessment.

For kits collected after February 26, 2017, the following procedures apply:

  • Any police agency or prosecutor’s office must submit a sexual offense evidence kit [in its custody] to an appropriate forensic laboratory within 10 days of receipt.
  • After receiving a kit, a forensic laboratory must assess the kit, and analyze and develop a CODIS-eligible profile where it is possible. Results must be reported to the submitting law enforcement agency and the appropriate prosecuting agency within 90 days of receipt.

Beginning November 28, 2017, the following reports must be made quarterly to DCJS:

  • Police agencies and prosecutor’s offices:
    • number of sexual offense assault kits received;
    • number of kits submitted to a forensic lab;
    • number of kits in its custody that have not been processed for testing; and
    • length of time between receipt of a kit and submission to a forensic lab.
  • Forensic labs:
    • number of sexual offense assault kits received;
    • number of kits processed;
    • number of kits not tested; and
    • reason why a sexual offense evidence kit was not tested.

DCJS must provide quarterly reports to the Legislature by January 1, 2018, and annually thereafter.
Effective: November 28, 2017, DCJS must ensure that all police agencies, prosecutor’s offices and forensic labs are educated and aware of the provisions of the new law.

Signed:  Chapter 500 signed on November 28, 2016; Chapter 6 signed on February 1, 2017 
Effective: Multiple effective dates

Amends: Executive Law by adding, and amending, a new §838-a

*CODIS – FBI's Combined DNA Index System where DNA profiles can be stored and searched, in order to match DNA gathered through evidence collection with the DNA of individuals already entered into the system from a prior conviction

Trafficking Victims Protection and Justice Act – A.506 Paulin/S.7 Lanza

Improves the State's response to human trafficking.  Increases the accountability of buyers and traffickers by adding new offenses to address patronizing a minor for prostitution and increasing penalties for sex trafficking.  Eliminates the term “prostitute” in the Penal Law and replaces it with “patronizing a person for prostitution.”  Requires the development of policies and materials for new and veteran police officers to use in assisting trafficking victims.

Signed: October 21, 2015 Chapter 368

Effective: January 19, 2016

Amends: multiple sections of Penal Law §§60.13, 70.02(1)(a) & (c), 70.80(1)(a), 135.35, add 135.37, 460.10(1)(a), 700.05(8)(b) & (h), add 230.01, 230.02(1), 230.03(2), 230.04 - 230.10, add 230.11 – 230.13,  230.15(1) & (2), 230.19(1), 230.25(1), 230.30. 230.32, 230.33, 230.35, 230.40, 240.37(2), 380.50(6), 440.10(1)(i), 483-bb add (c), Criminal Procedure Law §§380.50, 440.10, 700.05; Social Services Law §§483-bb & 483-cc; Civil PLR §212; Mental Hygiene Law §10.03; Correction Law §§168-a & 168-d; Vehicle & Traffic Law §509-cc, add §510-d; Public Health Law §2324-a; Real Property Actions & Proceedings Law §715; Real Property Law §231; Executive Law §840, add §214-d; §14 of Chapter 74 of 2007

Fee Waivers for Certain Crimes – A.2469-A.Paulin/S.4394-A Lanza

Waives the DNA databank fee, the mandatory surcharge and the crime victim assistance fee for convictions, where the arresting charge is prostitution or loitering for prostitution, or when the court finds the defendant is a victim of sex trafficking.

Signed: November 20, 2015 Chapter 246

Effective: November 20, 2015

Amends: Criminal Procedure Law §420.35(2)

Resources for Victims of Sexual Assault and Child Pornography - A.86 Paulin/S.3486 Lanza

Allows the Department of Health to promote the availability of no-cost counseling programs, education programs and advocacy services for victims of sexual offenses and child pornography promotion/possession, provided at government and not-for-profit programs.

Signed: November 20, 2015 Chapter 363

Effective: January 19, 2016

Amends: Executive Law §292(5)

Campus Sexual Assault and Interpersonal Violence - A.8244 Glick/S.5965 Lavalle

Requires all colleges to adopt a set of comprehensive procedures and guidelines to combat sexual assault, intimate partner violence and stalking on college and university campuses statewide. In addition to required prevention and response policies and procedures, the “Enough is Enough” law includes a uniform definition of affirmative consent for sexual activity, a statewide reporting amnesty policy, confidentiality provisions and expanded access to law enforcement, to help ensure the safety of all students attending colleges in New York State.

Signed: July 7, 2015 Chapter 76

Effective: October 5, 2015; provisions requiring campus climate assessments and annual reporting of aggregate data to the State Department of Education take effect on July 7, 2016

Amends: Education Law by creating a new Article 129-B (§§6439 – 6449); Civil Practice Laws & Rules R3016, CPLR; Executive Law by adding a new §232

Unlawful Surveillance/Sexual Conduct - A.2053-C Paulin/S.1982-C Carlucci

Makes it illegal to install or use, or permit installing or using, a device to view, broadcast or record a person engaged in sexual conduct in a way that they can be identified, whether or not their intimate or sexual parts are shown.  The new law applies when this is done without the victim’s knowledge or consent and occurs at a time and place where the victim would have reasonable expectation of privacy.  The law also makes it illegal to disseminate, sell or publish these images.

Signed:  August 1, 2014 Chapter 193

Effective:  November 1, 2014

Amends:  Penal Law §250.45 - adds new sub (5); 250.55; 250.60(1)

Fee Waiver for Sex Trafficking Victims - A.8812 Paulin/S.6803 Lanza

Requires the court to waive the mandatory surcharge and the crime victim assistance fee when a defendant is found to be a victim of sex trafficking.  These are fees that all defendants must pay when they are convicted or plead guilty to an offense.  For various reasons, including personal safety, a trafficked individual may choose to plead guilty.

Signed: September 23, 2014 Chapter 385

Effective: September 23, 2014 - will apply to convictions on or after this date, as well as any cases where charges are pending as of this date, but sentence has not yet been imposed

Amends:  Criminal Procedure Law §420.35(2)

Persistent Sexual Abuse (A.2711 Simotas/S.612 Gianaris)

A defendant is guilty of the crime of "persistent sexual abuse" when convicted of certain sex crimes after having been convicted of similar sex crimes two or more times in the previous ten years.  The new law excludes any prison time from the ten-year period, since the offender would not have been able to commit sex crimes in the community while incarcerated. 

Signed:  2014 Chapter 192

Effective:  November 1, 2014

Amends:  Penal Law §130.53

Closed-Circuit Television Extension  (A.3005-D/S.2605-D)

Extends until September 1, 2015, the provision that allows vulnerable child witnesses to testify via closed-circuit television in cases involving sex crimes - a provision established in 1985.

Signed: 2013 Chapter 55 – budget Bill: §18 of Part E

Effective: March 28, 2013

Amends:  unconsolidated law – section 5 of Chapter 505 of the Laws of 1985

Law Enforcement Policies and Judicial Training on Sexual Assault Crimes  (A.2349-A Weinstein/S.4895 Saland)

Requires the NYS Municipal Police Training Council, in consultation with rape crisis centers, to develop and disseminate policies and procedures for police officers on the investigation of, and intervention in, sexual assault crimes.  The policies and procedures will make provisions for education and training in specific areas related to enforcement of sexual assault laws. The Council is authorized to recommend to the Governor rules and regulations related to the training of new and veteran officers. Requires the Office of Court Administration to provide training for judges on sexual assault crimes.

Signed: 2011 Chapter 506

Effective:  December 22, 2011

Amends:  Executive Law §840(4)

Judiciary Law §219-c

Employee Sexual Contact with Inmates/Parolees  (A.8449 Aubry/S.5455-B Nozzolio)

Amends the penal law to strengthen the lack of consent provision in certain sex offense cases, clarifying that criminal liability for engaging in sexual conduct with an inmate or parolee is imposed on anyone who is a Department of Corrections and Community Supervision employee (including Parole) or an employee of a state agency that frequently provides services to inmates within correctional facilities, including the Department of Mental Health.  The law also applies to certain employees of the Office of Children and Family Services who work in an OCFS residential facility.

Signed: 2011 Chapter 205

Effective: November 1, 2011

Amends:  Penal Law §§130.05(3)(e) and (g); 130.10(4)

Sexual Abuse First Degree  (A.788 Destito/S.1882 Griffo)

Amends penal law §130.65 to provide that a person is guilty of sexual abuse in the first degree when he or she is twenty-one years old or older and subjects another person who is less than thirteen years old to sexual contact.  This offense is a class D violent felony.

Signed: 2011 Chapter 26

Effective:  November 1, 2011

Amends:  Penal Law §130.65(4)

Interagency Task Force on Human Trafficking  (A.6800 Meng/S.4089 Saland)

Extends the Interagency Task Force on Human Trafficking for two years, until September 1, 2013.  The Task Force, co-chaired by the Commissioners of the Division of Criminal Justice Services and the Office of Temporary and Disability Assistance, was established in 2007 to:  collect data on the prevalence human trafficking; identify services available to human trafficking victims; consult with governmental and nongovernment organizations to develop recommendations to strengthen human trafficking prevention and improve both prosecution of traffickers and assistance to victims; establish interagency protocols and collaboration; evaluate and make recommendations on the effectiveness of training for police, prosecutors, defense attorneys and service providers; and evaluate the State’s progress in preventing human trafficking and protecting victims.

Signed: 2011 Chapter 24

Effective:  May 17, 2011

Unconsolidated law - amends section 14 of Chapter 74 of the Laws of 2007

2009 Omnibus Domestic Violence Bill  (A.9017 Weinstein/S.5031-A Hassell Thompson)

Makes numerous changes to various state laws, including:

  • protects victims of sexual assault committed by a family or household member by designating certain low-level sexual assault crimes as family offenses, requiring that mandatory arrest provisions apply and allowing victims to petition Family Court for orders of protection, which would be required to be filed with the statewide registry
  • provides greater protections to victims by adding the length of incarceration to the maximum expiration date previously allowed for orders of protections issued in misdemeanor and violation cases
  • requires law enforcement to forward domestic incident reports to probation and parole officers
  • provides for certain violation-level harassment convictions to remain unsealed and accessible to law enforcement, thereby, providing a more complete history of abuse – multiple sections/effective dates
  • requires judges to state on the record how domestic violence and/or child abuse were factored into custody and visitation decisions
  • strengthens domestic violence training requirements for attorneys for children (law guardians)

Signed:  2009 Chapter 476

Effective: December 19, 2009, except for multiple unsealed convictions provisions, which have varying effective dates

Amends:  Family Court Act §§249-b; 812; 821 Domestic Relations Law §240

Criminal Procedure Law §§530.11; 140.10; 160.55; 170.10; 530.12; 530.13

Sexual Assault Services Information/Public Assistance  (A.3378  Rosenthal/S.4077 Squadron )

Requires local social services districts to inform anyone applying for/receiving public assistance of their option to receive an information packet on sexual assault.  The packet will contain referral and contact information for local programs that provide services to victims of sexual assault, including counseling and hotline services, rape crisis centers and sexual assault examiner programs.

Signed: 2009 Chapter 427

Effective: March 15, 2010

Amends:  Social Services Law §131(20)      

Physicians Assistants/Sexual Assault Forensic Examiners (A.10395-AGottfried/S.7629 Hannon)

Authorizes licensed physician assistants to act as sexual assault forensic examiners when they have been trained and certified in the examination and preservation of forensic evidence in sexual assault cases.

Signed: 2008 Chapter 292

Effective: July 21, 2008

Amends:  Public Health Law §2805-i(4-b)(b)(1)

Safe Harbor For Sexually Exploited Children Act (A.5258-C Scarborough/S.3175-C Volker)

Consistent with the treatment of adult trafficking victims under New York’s 2007 Anti-trafficking Law, this law offers a supportive, service-based, non-criminal response to children who are “sexually exploited,” as defined by the new law. Requires social services districts to identify the use of existing youth services, and to the extent that funds are available, provide preventive services, such as short-term safe houses. Requires the Family Court, with certain exceptions, to treat a youth under age 18 as a Person In Need of Supervision (PINS), rather than a juvenile delinquent, when arrested for prostitution . Non-compliance by the youth may result in the case being converted back to a juvenile delinquency proceeding. The NYS Office of Children and Family Services is required to contract with an appropriate community agency to operate at least one safe house in NYS, in a location that can protect children in a geographic region of high need.

Signed: 2008 Chapter 569

Effective: April 1, 2010

Amends:  Social Services Law §§447-a; 447-b

HIV Testing in Sex Offense Cases  (A.9256 Mayersohn/S.6357 Saland)
Authorizes a criminal court to order a defendant, in certain felony-level sex offense cases, to submit to HIV testing when an indictment has been issued or the case is proceeding in Supreme Court. The defendant must submit to HIV-related testing within six months after the date of the crimes charged, when testing would provide medical or psychological benefit to the victim. The victim must be notified of the test results and offered follow-up testing. If medically appropriate, hospitals are required to provide information and appropriate therapies to sex offense victims who have been exposed to HIV and to advise victims of the availability of crime victim compensation for treatment.

Signed: 2007 Chapter 571

Effective: November 1, 2007

Amends:  Criminal Procedure Law §210.16

Public Health Law §2805-i(1)(c)

Sex Offender Management and Treatment Act  (A.6162 Silver/S.3318 Volker)

Allows the State to continue managing sex offenders after the expiration of their criminal sentences, either by indefinite civil confinement of those individuals determined to be the most dangerous predators, or by permitting strict, intensive longer periods of parole supervision for offenders who pose a lower risk of harm. The law streamlines civil commitment procedures, mandates treatment for all sex offenders (both during incarceration and after release), eliminates parole for Article 130 sex offenses, creates a new crime of "sexually motivated felony," and creates a new Office of Sex Offender Management in the Division of Criminal Justice Services. The new office will be responsible for developing comprehensive policies and standards for the evaluation, treatment and management of sex offenders.

Signed: 2007 Chapter 7

Effective: April 13, 2007

Amends: Mental Hygiene Law §§7.18;9.27(b)(4); 10; 15.27(b)(4); 33.13(c); 33.13(c)(9); 43.03(c); 45.01(5); 47.01(a); 47.03(d); 47.03(e); 47.03(f)

Correction Law §§5(6); 168-a(2)(a); 168-a(6); 402(13); 404(1); 500-a(1)(e); 622

Criminal Procedure Law §§1.20(42); 190.71(a); 200.50; 390.50(3); 380.50(4); 380.50(5); 720.35(4); 725.15

Executive Law §§259-a(2); 259-a(9); 259-i(3)(a)(ii); 259-i(3)(f)(x); 259-i(3)(g); 259-j(3); 259-j(6); 508(9); 837-r

Family Court Act §§117(b); 301.2(8); 380.1(4)

Judiciary Law §35(4-a)

Penal Law §§10.00(18); 30.00(2); 60.05(1); 60.13; 70.00(1); 70.02(1)(c); 70.02(1)(d); 70.06(2); 70.06(3); 70.10(2); 70.25(2-a); 70.45(1); 70.45(2); 70.80; 130.91;130.92

NY County Law §722

Sex Offender Registry/Failure to Register  (A.7512-A Weisenberg/S.6277 Skelos)

Increases the penalty for failing to register or verify as a sex offender, as required by the Sex Offender Registry Act. Current penalties for failure to register would increase from a class A misdemeanor to a class E felony for a first offense and from a class D to class E felony for a second or subsequent offense.

Signed: 2007 Chapter 373

Effective: August 17, 2007

Amends:  Correction Law §168-t

Incest  (S.6277-B Volker/A.9305-B Lentol)

Amends the penal law regarding sexual contact with a child, to eliminate the lower penalty when the sexually abused child is closely related to the perpetrator. State law had permitted the child sexual offender to be charged with incest, a class E non-violent felony. The new law creates three degrees of incest, based on the age and capacity of the victim and the age of the perpetrator. The new categories for crimes involving children will now be level B or D felonies, allowing for more serious penalties and incarceration. Offender provisions include mandatory registration with the Sex Offender Registry and payment of the sex offender victim fee. Victim provisions include prohibiting use of a polygraph, protection against name disclosure, child witnesses testifying via closed-circuit television or being accompanied to the grand jury.

Signed: 2006 Chapter 320

Effective: November 1, 2006

Amends: Penal Law §§60.35(1)(b); 65.00(3); 65.10(4-a); 70.02(1)(a); 120.40(5)(b); 125.25(5); 255.25; 255.26; 255.27

Correction Law §§168-a(2)(a)(1)-; 851(2)

Criminal Procedure Law §§30.10(3)(f); 60.44; 65.00(1); 65.20(6) and (9)(k);160.45; 190.25; 190.32; 380.50

Civil Rights Law §§50-b; 61(2); 62(2); 64

Executive Law §§259-c(14); 631(1); 642(2-a)(a); 995(7)(a)

Family Court Act §§343.1(4); 1012(3)(iii)

Social Services Law §412(8)(c)

Sodomy Amendment (S.5772 Duane/A.11927 Glick)

Creates consistent language in reference to a “criminal sexual act.” Previous changes in the law replaced the use of the obsolete term “sodomy” with the term “criminal sexual act.” This law changes the reference in the section of law that identifies certain sex offenses for which a convicted offender is barred from receiving youthful offender status.

Signed: 2006 Chapter 316

Effective: July 26, 2006

Amends:  Criminal Procedure Law §720.10(2)(a)

Statute of Limitations on Sex Crimes (S.8441 Skelos/A.12012 Paulin)

Eliminates the statute of limitations on first degree rape, first degree criminal sexual act, first degree aggravated sexual abuse and first degree course of sexual conduct against a child. Extends from one to five years the time allowed for a victim of these crimes to begin a civil action.

Signed: 2006 Chapter 3

Effective: June 23, 2006

Amends:  Criminal Procedure Law §§30.10(2)(a); 30.10(3)(e); 30.10(3)(f)

Civil Practice Law and Rules §§213-c; 215(8)

Sex Offender Registration (S.6409 Skelos/A.9472 Aubrey)

Extends the period of time that a sex offender must remain on the state’s sex offender registry: level one offenders must be registered for 20 years; level two must register for life, with some exceptions to allow for relief after 30 years; level three requires life-time registration, with no relief exceptions. Requires the Division of Criminal Justice Services to notify all sex offenders whose term of registration would have expired under the old law of their new, continued duty to register.

Signed: 2006 Chapter 1

Effective: January 18, 2006

Amends:  Correction Law §§168-b(10); 168-h(1); 168-h(2); 168-l(8); 168-o(1)

Compelling Prostitution  (S.6934 Leibell/A.10193 Bradley)

Requires a person convicted of the crime of compelling prostitution to register as a sex offender and to provide a DNA sample for the state’s DNA database.

Signed: 2006 Chapter 91

Effective: June 7, 2006

Amends:  Correction Law §168-a(2)(a)(i)

Executive Law §995(7)(d)

Sex Offender Release Notification to Social Services District  (S.7277 Johnson/A.10778 Sweeney)

Requires the Board of Parole to provide notice to the local social services district when a level 2 or 3 sex offender is about to be released, if the inmate is likely to seek services.

Signed: 2006 Chapter 96

Effective: June 7, 2006

Amends:  Executive Law §259-c(16)

Closed-Circuit Television Testimony  (A.10559-A Weinstein/S.556-A Skelos)

Allows thirteen and fourteen-year-old sex offense and incest victims who meet the definition of "vulnerable child witness" to testify via closed circuit television. The law had limited this option to victims twelve and under.

Signed: 2004 Chapter 362

Effective: August 17, 2004

Amends:  Family Court Act §343.1(4)

Criminal Procedure Law §65.00(1)

Sex Offender Registration Act  (A.11599 Bradley/S.7548 Leibel)

Requires the Division of Criminal Justice Services (DCJS) to notify NYS convicted sex offenders who are required to register under the Sex Offender Registration Act that the registration requirement may continue under the laws of other states. Also requires DCJS to regularly notify officials in all other states and territories of the duty to notify DCJS when a NYS registered sex offender relocates to, establishes employment in or attends school in their state.

Signed: 2004 Chapter 410

Effective: November 15, 2004

Amends:  Corrections Law §§168-c(4); 168-k(3)

SARA Clean-Up /Sexual Assault Exam Reimbursement  (A.9116 Lentol/S.5690 Golden)

Enhances penalties for several sexual assault crimes, including forcible touching, persistent sexual abuse and possession and sale of the date-rape drug, GHB. Makes multiple technical corrections to SARA (Sexual Assault Reform Act), changes "sodomy" to "criminal sexual act," and replaces references to "deviate sexual intercourse" with the terms "oral sexual conduct" or "anal sexual conduct." Provides for direct Crime Victims Board reimbursement for sexual assault forensic exams performed by a hospital, sexual assault examiner program or licensed health care provider.

Signed: 2003 Chapter 264

Effective: November 1, 2003; CVB reimbursement took effect April 1, 2005

Amends: Penal Law §§10.00(18)(2); 30.00(2); 35.15(2)(b); 35.30(4)(b); 65.00(3); 70.02(1)(a); 70.07(1), (2) and (3); 70.07(4)(b); 70.07(5); 70.10(1)(b)(iii); 70.10(1)(b)(iv); 125.25(3); 125.27(1)(a)(v) and (vii); 130.00(2), (4) and (10); 130.05(1); 130.05(2)(c) and (2)(d); 130.05(3)(h); 130.10(3); 130.16(a); 130.20(2); 130.40; 130.45; 130.50; 130.52; 130.53; 130.75(1)(a) and (1)(b); 130.90(1) and (2); 220.06(7); 220.09(14); 220.34(8); 235.00(1) and (7); 235.22(2); 240.35(3); 255.25; 263.00(3) and (7); 265.00(17)(a); 485.00(3)

Criminal Procedure Law §§1.20(42); 60.20(2); 60.42(3); 180.75(4); 190.71(a); 200.62(2); 210.43(1)(b) 220.10(5)(g)(iii); 300.50(6); 390.15(1); 400.19(2), (4) and (6); 530.40(3); 530.45(1); 530.50; 700.05(8)(b); 720.10(3)

Agriculture and Markets Law §121(11)

Correction Law §865(1)

Domestic Relations Law §§170(4); 200(4)

Public Health Law §§695-a(9); 3306 – Sch. I (e)(4); 3306 – Sch. III(c)(12)

Family Court Act §§117(b)(ii); 301.2(8)(ii); 308.1(4); 343.1(2); 344.4(3); 347.1(1)

Judiciary Law §§4; 218(7)(g)

Executive Law §631(13)

Emergency Contraception  (A.15-A John/S.202-A Spano)

Requires hospitals that treat rape victims to provide information on emergency contraception. Upon the victim's request, the hospital must provide emergency contraception. The Department of Health is required to develop and produce informational materials on emergency contraception, to be used by all hospitals in New York State.

Signed: 2003 Chapter 625

Effective: January 28, 2004

Amends:  Public Health Law §2805-p

Sexual Assault Reform Act  (A.11538 Lentol/S.8238 Volker)

Enacts comprehensive change in the state's laws regarding rape, sexual assault and child sexual abuse. Creates new crimes, increases protection for victims of sex offenses, with additional protections for child victims, and increases and strengthens consequences for offenders. Addresses prosecution, bail and release, witnesses, sentencing, the sex offender registry and crime victim compensation. In addition, establishes a statewide sexual assault forensic examiner program and establishes a rape crisis intervention and prevention program in statute.

Signed: 2000 Chapter 1

Effective: February 1, 2001

Amends: Penal Law §§65.00(3); 65.10(4-a); 70.07; 70.25 (2-f)

Penal Law §§130.00(5), (12), and (13)

High Risk Sex Offenders  (A.4227-B Weinsenberg/S.972-A Skelos)

Amends the Sex Offender Registration Act to require that the subdirectory of high risk (level 3) sex offenders be made available on the Division of Criminal Justice Service's homepage for internet accessibility.

Signed: 2000 Chapter 490

Effective: January 21, 2001

Amends:  Correction Law §168-q(1)

Executive Law §843(5)

Local Update on Sexually Violent Predators  (A.7102 Englebright/S.4427 Volker)

Requires the NYS Division of Criminal Justice Services to distribute to local village, town or city police departments monthly updates of the subdirectory of sexually violent predators for purposes of public access.

Signed: 1999, Chapter 113

Effective: September 20, 1999

Amends:  Correction Law §168-q(1)